i. University of Pretoria (1977-1979)

Baccalaureus Artium (BA). Date awarded: 15.04.1980

(Awarded with distinction)

ii. University of Pretoria (1980-1981)

Baccalaureus Honores (Greek). Date awarded: 23.04.1981

(Awarded with distinction)

iii. University of Pretoria (1983-1986)

Baccalaureus Divinitatis (BD). Date awarded: 08.04.1986

(Awarded with distinction)

Main subjects:

New Testament Studies

Old Testament Studies

Systematic Theology and Christian Ethics

iv. University of Pretoria (1986-1990)

Doctor Divinitatis Date awarded: 06.12.1990

(Awarded with distinction)

The Doctor Divinitatis is an earned research doctoral degree. Following the European tradition, the outcome of the Doctor Divinitatis at the University of Pretoria is specialized research-based knowledge, combined with a broad theological background. Doctoral examinations in a main subject and in two ancillary subjects are required, as well as an extensive dissertation.

Main subject: New Testament Studies

Ancillary subjects: Old Testament Studies; Systematic Theology and Christian Ethics

Title of dissertation: "Dýnamis in the Sense of Power in the Main Pauline Letters."

Doctoral research was done at the "Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität," Münster, Germany under the supervision of Prof. Dr. Karl Kertelge. The dissertation was published in the series "Wissenschaftliche Untersuchungen zum Neuen Testament" by Mohr Siebeck in Tübingen, Germany; see publication section.

Supervisor: Prof. Dr. Andrie du Toit (University of Pretoria)

External examiners:

Prof. Dr. Karl Kertelge (Westfälische Wilhelms University, Münster, Germany)

Prof. Dr. Jan Lambrecht (Catholic University of Louvain, Belgium)
Marienplatz, Munich

v. Post-doctoral research at the "Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität," Munich (1995 and 1999) and as a Visiting Fellow of Clare Hall, University of Cambridge, UK, 1999.

vi. Obtained the module in Distance Educationfrom the Diploma in Tertiary Education at the University of South Africa with distinction (1992).
Print Print | Sitemap
All rights reserved, 2009